PPL Test

Total Hours : 48:05

Aircraft : DA40

Registration : 9M-NRE

Examiner : Capt Zeenu (APAC08T)

I still can remember back then, when I flown with Capt Zeenu for the first time for Instruments Flying 3. Today, it was my second time with APAC 08. Last time, I felt like doing PPL test and now, I really did the test with him. As usual, preparation is everything. My sortie was scheduled early in the morning around 9.30AM. I’m the first student to be tested and the second sortie was my senior,Philbert, CPL (GH).

Getting early in the morning is crucial as I need to prepare the Loading and Performance charts. To prepare the performance charts, there are several steps to be done. First of all is to have the weather report as I need the current temperature and latest QNH for Pressure Altitude calculation.

After having the weather report in hand, I then proceed with Load and Balance sheet to have the Take-off weight (TOW) before proceed to Performance charts. For DA40, the Maximum Take Off Weight is 1150KG (MTOW).

After having the Take Off Weight and moment, I then continued to calculate CG range. By having those number in hand, I know that the CG is within limit.

The effect position of CG is important especially in Light aircraft. If the CG is too aft, aircraft can stall after lift off. If the CG too forward, nose is too heavy to lift off and increase the take off ground roll. I then continued with few performance charts for Take off and Landing with different configurations.

Last but not least, I calculated the crosswind component based on the METAR and slight crosswind expected during take off.

Finished with Loading and Performance chart is only halfway of the process, I then prepared the briefing board by filling up the aircraft remaining hours and etc.

Finished with paperwork and board, I then checked the aircraft carefully. Previously, the aircraft several time reported with ECU problem, made me check every single inch. Even though ECU situated inside the engine compartment, but external pre-flight checks is also important ! After satisfied with the condition of the aircraft, I went inside and started looking for Capt Zeenu.

After introduced myself to him, I went inside the briefing room and prepare myself for the test. He went inside the briefing room and checked my license, FTR as well as loading and performance chart.

Capt Zeenu : Have you checked the aircraft?

Me : Yes Sir, I’ve done the pre-flight check.

Capt Zeenu : Let’s go.

Me : Ok Sir.

This is the time…..

He checked the propeller and did walk around to make sure everything fine. I went through the checklist as per normal.

Capt Zeenu : Request startup for circuits first, if not available, go to training area.

Me : Ok sir.

I made the radio call and lucky for me, circuits and landing is available. I carry on until Before Take-off check. Everything was normal. ECU test was normal, no indications of something going wrong.

Initially, the coolant was in the yellow sector and I had to increased the RPM to 1400 to warm up the engine. It was my first time doing that actually. I’ve never done that before until my batch mate told me that Capt Zeenu want 1400RPM to warm-up the engine as per checklist.

We were cleared for taxi and did instruments check while taxying. Taxied to Holding point Charlie and cleared to enter active runway 10 but number two for departure.

Shorten the story,

Took off and join the circuit, Capt Zeenu asked me to show him Normal circuit. I did downwind checks as per normal. He remain silent and watched me as I said “Spacing Heading Spacing Height and Spacing Speed”. We were cleared No 2 for approach. No 1 is PA28 which is slower that DA40. So I need to maintain spacing and let him pass my 3’oclock before start turning for Base. Everything was normal and safely touch and go. After airborne from touch and go, Capt Zeenu asked me to show Glide circuit, however, right after I reported “Downwind Glide for Touch and Go”, ATC asked us to hold mid down wind while the PA28 infront of us was asked to hold at late downwind due to scheduled departure.

After the aircraft safely airbone, PA28 was cleared  No 1 for approach and I was no 2. Normally, for glide circuit spacing is 1 wing chord from initial aiming point.I follow as per glide circuit pattern. PA28 was still on the runway and I had no choice but to go around. Immediately after going around, Capt Zeenu made RT call asked ATC whether can hold for left base and ATC cleared.

Capt Zeenu : I have control.

Me : You have control sir.

AAArrrrr… What came through my mind was, confirm failed. Maybe my spacing too close with the aircraft until he need to take over the control? I just remain silent and try to calm down. After the aircraft touch and go, he Radio ATC after touch and go proceed to Bachok. I was surprised. Hehe..I then did Glide circuit for the second time and touch and go direct to Bachok.

Passing 300feet, Capt Zeenu asked me to put IF hood for Basic IF. Exactly the same as I did in IF3 last time. He asked me to do Medium turn and rate one turn. Enough with IF, he asked me to take off the hood. Aircraft was cruising at 1000feet tracking to Gunong.

Capt Zeenu : Engine Failed!

Me : Select Attitude for 70Kts. Emergency landing prepare…errr..sir I will select 11’oclock as my force landing area.Emergency fuel valve OFF, Engine Master OFF,Finals Flaps LDG and ELEC MSTR OFF.

Capt Zeenu : Why dont you select there? (pointed to 1’oclock), much closer.

Me : Ok sir =p

Me : Reaching 500feet sir going around.

Capt Zeenu : OK, turn left to this heading (moving the Heading bug)

Me : Roger Left HDG 150, left clear front clear right clear all clear.

After then he asked me to climb to 2000feet. Approach config stall exercise straight away. I did HASELL check and follow as per circuit/downwind pattern. He remain silent and keep watching me. After recovered from approach config stall, Capt Zeenu asked me to do a steep turn to the left.

Me : Left clear Front Clear Right Clear, all around clear. Steep turn to the left.Passing 30degrees, power 80%. Bank Balance Back Pressure.

Attitude Bank angle Attitude

Attitude Back Pressure Attitude

Attitude Balance Attitude

Attitude LOOKOUT Performance

After Rollout from steep turn, we request for rejoin as the timer indicating approx 1hrs 15mins.

I safely touched down 1hr 30mins later. After the engine stopped, Capt Zeenu said, after philbert we will brief.

Now, the same aircraft was used during Philbert.9M-NRE. They took off safely and did few circuits, however according to Philbert, while tracking to Bachok, ECU A and B caution lights ON forced Capt Zeenu to took over control and request to land Runway 28. Normally cruising altitude while tracking to Bachok training area is 1000feet. It was a tense moment to come across this situation. I was relieved that they made a safe landing on Runway 28.

After a while, Capt Zeenu debrief me and asked Emergency question such as Spins Recovery technique and RPM Overspeed. He then gave the PPL paper and said I passed the test.

Alhamdullilah.

Thanks to my friend for wishing me good luck/all the best prior the test. A few words means a lot to me. Also congratulations to Ariventhan. He passed PPL test last week also with APAC 08Tango.

4 Comments »

  1. Konzen Said:

    congratulations Arni! your blog will become my “panduan” hidup starting from now, since you’re flying DA-40 too.

    • rezolles Said:

      Thx bro

      • Firdaus Said:

        Congratulations bro!A good job well done! I will be joing APFT this April and i must say your blog is so informative and i’ve been reading so so much prior to my admission this April.

      • rezolles Said:

        Firdaus,

        I’m glad to know that…If you have any question, just drop it here.

        Thank you


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment